Masthead_Spring 2020

Norie Quintos, Editorial Consultant

Adam Erby
Ann Greer
Margaret Loftus
Thalía Romero
Dana Stefanelli
Melanie Welles Creamer

Rebekah Hanover Pettit, Art Director & Designer
Dawn Bonner, Visual Resources Manager
Thalía Romero, Photographer & Production Coordinator
Zac Redden, Digital Production Designer
Lorna Notsch, Proofreader

Cover image: George Washington, Gilbert Stuart, c. 1798, MVLA, Gift of Caroline H. Richardson, 1904, H-4. (Photo by Gavin Ashworth)

Mount Vernon magazine is published three times a year by the Mount Vernon Ladies’ Association, the nonprofit organization that owns and manages George Washington’s estate. We envision an America where all know and value the singular story of the father of our country. Ever mindful of our past, we seek innovative and compelling ways to tell the story of George Washington, so that his timeless and relevant life lessons are accessible to the world.

This publication is produced solely for nonprofit, educational purposes, and every reasonable effort is made to provide accurate and appropriate attribution for all elements, including historic images in the public domain. All written material, unless otherwise stated, is the copyright of the Mount Vernon Ladies’ Association. While vetted for accuracy, the feature articles included in this magazine reflect the research and interpretation of the contributing authors and historians.

George Washington’s Mount Vernon
P.O. Box 110, Mount Vernon, Virginia 22121

All editorial, reprint, or circulation correspondence should be directed to

MVLA seal

George Washington’s Mount Vernon estate is owned and maintained in trust for the people of the United States by the Mount Vernon Ladies’ Association of the Union, a private, nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization founded in 1853 by Ann Pamela Cunningham.

Sarah Miller Coulson, Regent
Ann Cady Scott, Secretary
Margaret Hartman Nichols, Treasurer

Cameron Kock Mayer, Louisiana
Maribeth Armstrong Borthwick, California
Ann Haunschild Bookout, Texas
Jean Armfield Sherrill, North Carolina
Virginia Dawson Lane, South Carolina
Laura Peebles Rutherford, Alabama
Susan Marshall Townsend, Delaware
Anne Neal Petri, Wisconsin
Liz Rollins Mauran, Rhode Island
Ann Cady Scott, Missouri
Susan Stevens Reeder, Mississippi
Andrea Notman Sahin, Massachusetts
Catherine Hamilton Mayton, Arkansas
Margaret Hartman Nichols, Maine
Helen Herboth Laughery, Wyoming
Catherine Marlette Waddell, Illinois
Lucia Bosqui Henderson, Virginia
Mary Lang Bishop, Oregon
Elizabeth Medlin Hale, Georgia
Ann Sherrill Pyne, New York

Douglas Bradburn, President & CEO
Kevin Butterfield, Executive Director, Washington Library
Joe Bondi, Senior Vice President, Development
Matt Briney, Vice President, Media & Communications
Phil Manno, Chief Financial Officer
Susan Schoelwer, Executive Director, Historic Preservation & Collections & Robert H. Smith Senior Curator
Joseph Sliger, Vice President, Operations & Maintenance
K. Allison Wickens, Vice President, Education